Sales Is Simple

People often attempt to make a relatively simple issue more complex. At the end of the day, sales is pretty simple. I’m not saying anyone can do it, but I’ve been doing it my whole life so that fact alone means there must be some simplicity to it!

People want to buy “stuff,” and we want to sell it to them. If we just get out of our own way and listen to what they want, we are much better off.

One of my first ever sales calls (not counting the days as a kid when I would go out with my dad as he visited clients in his territory) found me walking into a prospect’s office where he pulled out a little hourglass from a board game. He then said to me “OK kid, what do ya got?”

I had no clue what to do. My sales training had not prepared me for a lunatic with a mini hourglass. There was no time to go over everything we could possibly do for him so I responded the best way I knew how, by saying “I don’t know, what do you need?”

The prospect put away the timer, smiled at me and commended me for being the first person to “answer his question correctly.” He was the client, it was his money I wanted in my pocket, so I had better understand his needs AND THEN determine if I could HELP him, not waste his time by showing him all of the ways I wanted him to sell him.

I still have a business relationship, and a friendship, with him today.

Talk to the right people at that target company, listen and understand what their needs are and determine if you can help them. While you are at it, it might not hurt to make sure they have the budget to implement your solution, and the time to actually do it.

It doesn’t need to be more complicated than that.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

