Why Work in Sales?

Have you ever wondered why you are doing what you do? Did you grow up knowing what you wanted to be as an adult? I mean, of course, after the cowboy, fireman, and hairdresser stages. While some of us might have planned our career when we were young, does anyone dream of being in human resources or an office supervisor or salesperson? I don’t think so.

Like many, I went to college not knowing what I wanted to do. After graduation, I basically took the first job that was offered to me. My father strongly suggested I do that. It was in sales calling on grocery stores. You remember those? They were places where you could buy your weekly groceries without spending two hours walking up and down long, endless aisles.

I have been in sales ever since. And, why not? It’s an honorable profession and one I enjoy. An old boss once told me that nothing could be better than what we do. Making a decent dollar for ourselves and selling a quality product that will benefit others. That was his motto.

Just like all professions, this is not for everyone. I always chuckle when I hear a comment that because someone talks a lot, they would be good in sales. Take it from someone who loves to talk, nothing could be further from the truth. You must be able to communicate. That means listening and responding to someone’s needs. That’s what a good salesperson does.

One interesting part of sales is the people you meet and the businesses you see. You need to enjoy people to be successful in sales. Through the years, I’ve celebrated weddings and births with clients, sat with doctors after they have lost a patient, heard vacation stories, tales of woe and as well as the good times. Customers are going to have good and bad days, just like everyone else. In some instances, our customers become friends. As you work on a project you may find your personalities click and you have the same interests. You never know walking in the door what is going to happen.

And, I have always found what businesses do to be fascinating, whether I’m taking a tour of a manufacturing plant to see how products are made or seeing a collection of homemade weapons at a police station. I have been in television studios watching local news as it airs live. For those in the Midwest, I have seen how Empire Carpet works and met the man who is in the commercials. Some of these tours would take five minutes, and others, maybe an hour. People get excited and want to show you what they do and how they do it.

No two days are the same. You never know what is going to happen, who is going to call. Some of those calls you want to receive, others you wish would go away. There is rejection in this business. No doubt about that. That is part of sales. It hurts when you have put the time and effort into a project, you know the product is fairly priced and the client would certainly benefit. And, they still say no. You have to learn to roll with those days.

The other side is the elation when all of this effort comes to fruition. When you get the contract signed or agree with a handshake, it’s a wonderful feeling of accomplishment. It confirms why you are a professional salesperson.

That initial feeling is similar to draining a nice putt of golf: a moment of pure joy.  That’s when I know how Tiger feels.  I don’t think I will have to go to Mississippi anytime soon though.

One Response

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Salesmanagement2.0, Randolph Sterling. Randolph Sterling said: Why Work in Sales? http://wp.me/pAvC8-2s #business #sales […]

Leave a Reply

